CHASKA, MN – JUNE 23: 2019 KPMG Women’s PGA Champion, Hannah Green of Australia poses with the KPMG trophy after winning the 65th KPMG Women’s PGA Championship held at Hazeltine National Golf Club on June 23, 2019 in Chaska, Minnesota. (Photo by Montana Pritchard/PGA of America)


Australia’s Hannah Green made a 5-foot par putt on the 72nd hole to stave off defending champion Sung Hyun Park and win the 2019 KPMG Women’s PGA Championship on Sunday at Hazeltine National Golf Club in Chaska, Minnesota. After entering the final round with a one-shot advantage, Green expanded her lead with  birdies on 2 and 7. However, consecutive bogeys on 11 and 12 halved her lead to two, then Sung Hyun Park birdied the par-5 15th to close within a stroke.
Green answered with a birdie of her own at 16, side-dooring a 20-foot putt, to reestablish a two-shot buffer. Park’s then made a miraculous birdie on 18 to force Green to par Hazeltine’s uphill 18th. She did just that, getting up and down out of a greenside bunker to seize her initial LPGA victory and first major championship.  
This is Hannah’s first major championship, and her first win on the LPGA Tour.
With her victory at Hazeltine, Green became the third Australian to have her name etched into the KPMG Women’s PGA Championship Trophy. Karrie Webb (2001) and Jan Stephenson (1982) blazed the trail that Green followed Sunday at Hazeltine. These three players are also the only Australians to win an LPGA major championship, with Webb winning seven times and Stephenson three.
Runner-up Sung Hyun Park  finished one shot behind Hannah Green.(70-71-71-68),


Hannah takes her place on the 2019 Rolex ANNIKA Major Award standings following her first LPGA Tour win at the KPMG Women’s PGA Championship.

The Rolex ANNIKA Major Award will recognize the player who, during a current LPGA Tour season, has the most outstanding record in all five major championships. Points will be awarded at all five major championships to competitors who finish among the top-10 and ties. To take home the award, a player must also win at least one of the five majors.

The winner of the Rolex ANNIKA Major Award will be announced in a ceremony at the Rolex LPGA Awards at the CME Group Tour Championship, after what is sure to be an exciting 2019 major season.

The point breakdown for players who met criteria for the award is as follows:


1. Jeongeun Lee6, 70 points, 1 Major Win

T2. Hannah Green, 60, 1

T2. Jin Young Ko, 60, 1

4. Lexi Thompson, 42, 0

5. So Yeon Ryu, 26, 0

Point Structure for Rolex ANNIKA Major Award:

1st place – 60 pts.; 2nd place – 24 pts.; 3rd place – 18 pts.; 4th place – 14 pts.; 5th place – 12 pts.; 6th place – 10 pts.; 7th place – 8 pts.; 8th place – 6 pts.; 9th place – 4 pts.; 10th place – 2 pts.

Note: This is the same point allocation used at the Major Championships for the Player of the Year Award

Green is the third player from Australia to win a major, joining Karrie Webb (seven) and Jan Stephenson (three)