Mehaffey becomes the second Pac-12 individual winner in head coach Missy Farr-Kaye’s four seasons, joining Linnea Strom in 2016, who is now competing on the LPGA Tour. She is the 13th Sun Devil to win the title, with Solheim Cup player Carlotta Ciganda also claiming the title on two occassions.
“We are thrilled with Olivia winning her first Pac-12 championship,” ASU head coach Missy Farr-Kaye said. “She fought hard all week and it paid off. It is a great accomplishment winning the championship because it is the strongest conference in the country.
“As a team we also finished strong beating two teams that are ranked ahead of us. I love how we played today and I want us to continue our great play and fight when we head to NCAA Regionals in two weeks.”
Mehaffey shot a 4-under total of 209 (69-70-70) and pared the first playoff hole to top Albane Valenzuela (Switzerland/Stanford), who made bogey. Mehaffey was the only player in the 55-team field to shoot under par in all three rounds and trailed by four strokes entering the final round, but birdied the first hole and then 16 to put the pressue on Valenzuela, who was still on the course.
2019, Olivia Mehaffey
2016, Linnea Strom
2010, Carlota Ciganda
2009, Carlota Ciganda
2005, Louise Stahle
2002, Jimin Kang
1999, Grace Park
1995, Wendy Ward
1993, Wendy Ward
1990, Brandie Burton
1989, Pearl Sinn
1988, Pam Wright
1987, Danielle Ammaccapane