St. Mary’s High School Lurgan and Belfast Royal Academy won the Irish Schools Senior and Junior Cup Finals at the 2013 Irish Schools Championships at Milltown Golf Club, Monday 29th April.

St. Mary’s High School’s Annabel Wilson returned a sparkling 32 gross points, 41 nett points, and schoolmate Niamh McSherry signed for 31 gross points to win the Senior Cup from Loreto College Clonmel represented by Gemma McCarthy (27 gross pts) and Abbie Kiely (24 gross pts) in the blustery conditions.
In the Junior Cup, Judith Allen returned a fine 24 gross points and teammate Amy O’Donnell signed for 20 gross points to win this year’s Junior Cup from Ursuline Sligo.
Annabel Wilson fired the best score of the day with 32 gross points to win the Mary Nowlan Cup while Hannah Jones (Ursuline Sligo) won the Senior best nett with 39 points. Judithe Allen (Belfast Royal Academy) won the best gross for the Junior Cup with 24 points and Mount Anville’s Rachael Moore won best nett on 37 points.
SENIOR CUP 63 pts St. Mary’s High School Lurgan – Niamh McSherry 31 Eodaoin Ward (15) Annabel Wilson 32 51pts Loreto College Clonmel – Abbie Kiely 24 Gemma McCarthy 27 45pts Mean Scoil Mhuire, Roscommon – Blaithin O’Brien 21 Orla Quinn (18) April Timothy 24
44pts Scoil Chríost Rí Port Laoise – Josephine Delaney (16) Mary Doyle 27 Emma Hooban 17 42pts Santa Sabina Dublin – Sophie Harrison 16 Hannah Jones (13) Julie McCarthy 26
Individual 32 gross pts Annabel Wilson (St. Mary’s High School) 39 nett pts Hannah Jones (Santa Sabina)

JUNIOR CUP 44pts Belfast Royal Academy – Judithe Allen 24 Amy O’Donnell 20 38pts Ursuline Sligo – Niamh Cronin 18 Helen McDonagh (13) Maeve Rooney 20 36pts Intermediate Killorglin – Niamh Carmody  (12) Eibhlin McCarthy 16 Nicola Rainsford 20 33 pts Mount Anville Dublin – Rachel Moore 18 Sarah O’Reilly [8] Elizabeth Shields 15 30pts Loreto Kilkenny – Sarah Browne 16 Katie Keenan [6] Caoimhe Murphy 14
Individual 24 gross pts  Judithe Allen (Belfast Royal Academy) 37 nett pts Rachael Moore (Mount Anville)

MARY NOWLAN CUP (Best Individual Gross) 32pts St. Mary’s High School Lurgan – Annabel Wilson
PRE TOURNAMENT NEWS Loreto Clonmel will attempt to go one better than last year as they go in search of the Irish Schools Senior Cup at Milltown on Monday 29th April.
Loreto Clonmel won the Irish Junior Cup Final in 2012 and are well placed to upgrade their trophy at the end of this month. While 2012 Irish Senior Cup Champions Glenlola College failed to qualify for this year’s finals, Roscomon’s Mean Scoil Mhuire and Dublin’s Santa Sabina will be hotly fancied to push Loreto all the way.
In the Junior final, Ursuline Sligo look strongest to lift the Cup but no doubt Mount Anville, Belfast Royal Academy, Loreto Kilkenny and debutantes Intermediate Killorglin will have plenty to say about that.
10 schools will compete for the Irish Senior & Junior Cups over 18 holes stableford. The 2 best gross scores (from 3) will count for the Championship and nett prizes will also be available on the day.
DISTRICT QUALIFIERS Ulster: St. Mary’s High School (Senior Cup) & Belfast Royal Academy (Junior Cup) Munster: Loreto Clonmel (Senior Cup) & Intermediate Killorglin (Junior Cup) Connacht: Mean Scoil Mhuire (Senior Cup) & Ursuline Sligo (Junior Cup) Mid Leinster: Scoil Chríost Rí Port Laoise (Senior Cup) & Loreto Kilkenny (Junior Cup) East Leinster: Santa Sabina (Senior Cup) & Mount Anville (Junior Cup)